ors_slim_banner_athletics.jpg ors_slim_banner_bikes.jpg ors_slim_banner_cycle.jpg ors_slim_banner_velodrm.jpg ors_slim_banner_bike_race.jpg ors_slim_banner_kids_run.jpg ors_slim_banner_netball.jpg ors_slim_banner_row.jpg ors_slim_banner_rowing.jpg ors_slim_banner_shooting.jpg ors_slim_banner_swim.jpg ors_slim_banner_soccer.jpg ors_slim_banner_stadium.jpg

SA wins U19 Women’s Softball Championships

30 January 2015

South Australia has won the 42nd U19 Women’s Softball Championships, with SA’s own Stephanie Trzcinski winning Grand Final MVP.

SA Women's U19 Softball team 

South Australia won its third Elinor McKenzie Shield, defeating reigning premier Queensland 2 – 1, its first championship since 2006, the first having been won in 1984.

Adelaide once again played host to the tournament, the last time being 2002.

The week-long event also comprised women’s teams from the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Victoria and Western Australia.

At the end of the minor round South Australia looked anything but champions, finishing fourth out of six teams on the ladder, with four wins and six losses. Those six losses were to New South Wales, Queensland and Western Australia, which occupied the first three places on the league ladder.

On its way to the Grand Final, South Australia first knocked out third-place Western Australia 4 – 2.

In the preliminary final, South Australia ousted number one seed NSW 3 – 1, on the back of a wonderful pitching performance from Stephanie Trzcinski, who struck out 12 NSW hitters.

Waiting for South Australia in the Grand Final was the in-form Queensland outfit.

Trzcinski carried her outstanding form into the Grand Final where she struck out four Queensland batters.

The match was level at 0 – 0 after the first seven regulation innings; Emma Burridge and Elly Beal broke the stalemate with hits in the eighth inning, which set up South Australia’s two runs.

Queensland was able to respond with one run but not enough to retain the title they lifted in Canberra last season.

Trzcinski was named Player of the Grand Final, and South Australia were further represented in the All Tournament Team with Chelsea Robinson named as starting Shortstop.